Advent, week 3

advent-wreathToday is the third Sunday of Advent.  As I’ve been writing on Advent, I had to admit that I’m sort of new to celebrating it myself.  My family didn’t have an Advent tradition as I grew up, so I’ve only been studying it for a couple of years.  I shared some resources in my first post, here are two more good ones.

The Vanderbilt Divinity Library  offers a scripture lectionary for each Sunday of Advent, as well as other resources.  Mark D. Roberts has written extensively on Advent, and his site is indexed and searchable.  Begin with his multi-part Introduction to Advent.  He breaks down each Sunday with themes and suggested scripture reading.  I would like to do something similar next year early on, instead of each Sunday as we go through the season.

Leave a Reply

