In Christ Alone

I’ve never been one for blogging song lyrics, but the gospel message is all over these verses.  In Christ Alone  (Keith Getty, Stuart Townsend) is one of my favorite songs that any Christian artist has ever produced.

In Christ Alone, my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song.
This cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, and strivings cease.
My comforter, my all in all
Here in the love of Christ I stand.

In Christ Alone, who took on flesh
Fullness of God in helpless babe.
This gift of love, and righteousness
Scorned by the ones he came to save.
‘Til on the cross as Jesus died
the wrath of God was satisfied.
For every sin on him was laid
Here in the death of Christ I live.

There in the ground his body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain.
Then bursting forth in glorious day
Up from the grave he rose again.
And as he stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me.
For I am his, and he is mine
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me.
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from his hand.
‘Til he returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

(watch video with lyrics)

The second verse is in bold because to me these are the most powerful words in these lyrics. “Fullness of God in helpless babe” is just like Colossians 1:19 “For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell,” and Philippians 2 when he became a servant obedient to death, even death on a cross. Jesus is Emmanuel, God with us, as described in Isaiah 8 and Matthew 1. When we could not come to God, he came for us.

While the second verse describes the crucifixion, verse 3 is about the resurrection.  It also explains how we have been purchased by the blood of Christ.  I have been bought with a price, and am no longer my own. 

Verse 4 is a modern praise based on this scripture:  “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers,  nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  -Romans 8:37-39 (ESV)

One thought on “In Christ Alone

  1. A great follow-up to “In Christ Alone” is Stuart Townend’s “Behold the Lamb (Communion Hymn)” on his album “There Is A Hope”. You can find it herehttp://stuarttownend.typepad.com/stuart_townend/
    Getty/Getty/Townend are some of the best new hymn writers today. Lots of authentic theology without the sentimental fluff.

Leave a Reply

