It’s like a trip on Jesus.

student_bible_study“It’s like a trip on Jesus.”  That’s exactly what the young man said who shared his testimony this evening.  Those are the words he used to sum up his salvation experience.

I don’t write much about the youth ministry I’m involved in, but feel like I must share this story.  A Christian should be able to share his or her testimony.  Maybe not in front of a church congregation, maybe not even in a group.  But a believer should be able to tell another person, even if just in a one on one conversation, what God has done in their life.  So tonight at BCM Celebration!  (Baptist Campus Ministry) we talked about what it means to share a testimony.

I told the kids that your testimony doesn’t have to be your whole life’s story.  It can be, but that’s not the only thing it means.  What needs to be included are a few details about what your life was like, and how it changed when you met Jesus.  If you can’t recall the day, the hour and the location that’s fine, as long as you’re certain that you’ve asked Jesus to forgive you of your sins.  I also suggest writing your testimony down.  It’s always good to know where you’re going before taking off.  Putting your testimony down on paper is a sure way of knowing for yourself the details are worked out in your own mind.  This is pretty much the talk I gave.

I had this same talk with one student about a week ago.  We discussed it, I answered his questions.  He handed me a hand-written sheet of notebook paper, front and back, a few days later.  I read it, it was good.  We discussed it some more.  After I talked to the group about what a testimony is and how to give one, I gave Mr. Student the floor.  It would have taken 10 minutes to read, but he embellished and spoke for 20.  He got a little “preachy” at the end like he was giving an alter call, but for a 16 year old high school student did a fine job, absolutely fine.  He described walking the isle at a youth Christian concert, his face in his hands and balling his eyes out.  He was led to Christ, still balling, but felt 100% better.  “It was like a trip on Jesus.”  He definitely shared the gospel this evening, and in a room full of students he sees at school everyday.

One thought on “It’s like a trip on Jesus.

  1. Clark,

    I have recently been giving some serious thought on the idea of sharing our testimony. I agree that a very moving testimony can be used by God to work a mighty work, but there is something in the concept of the testimony that smacks of subjectivism. Your own words:

    A Christian should be able to share his or her testimony. Maybe not in front of a church congregation, maybe not even in a group. But a believer should be able to tell another person, even if just in a one on one conversation, what God has done in their life.

    By default my testimony is what God has done in my life. But what God does in my life is different than what God does in your life, right? The potential danger of a personal testimony is that some may think that what God did in my life should be what God does in everybody’s life. However, my experience is not normative — it’s my experience.

    The early church was called to be a witness. And what we witness to is what Christ has done on our behalf (as you note in your article about the Good Shepherd). What Christ did is objective. The beauty of Christianity is that it is an historical faith — it is based on historical fact (death, burial and resurrection of Christ). The power of salvation is in the gospel (the objective stuff), not my testimony (the subjective stuff).

    Don’t misunderstand me, I don’t want to pooh-pooh the giving of one’s personal testimony, but that’s like the mustard on a hot dog — an embellishment. It’s not the substance.

    YBIC,
    Carl

Leave a Reply

