Cleaning the Blogroll

blogrollWhen I first started blogging, I worked to build up a blogroll.  These are the ones I read, and wanted to share with my readers.  Recently I’ve had to make a couple of subtractions. 

Tim Wilson lives in the United Kingdom, and was the author of Christ Centred.  His last post, the one linked, asks the question “Should Your Blog Exist?”  It also explains why he quit blogging.  The short answer is that there are a lot of blogs out there, and many are better than his own.  Since pastor’s like John Piper and C.J. Mahaney are doing such a good job, his blog was either redundant or inferior.  My name didn’t come up in his consideration.  Hmmm.  Tim concluded that the vast majority of Christian bloggers need to shut it down. 

My good friend That Dude You Know  is taking some blogging time off.  He says at least a year; no blog writing, no Facebook, no Twitter.  His goal is to re-prioritize the things in his life.  He is supporting a family, raising two kids, and working on a seminary degree.  I’ll watch for him though, and should he return I’ll recommend him again.

There are some I wonder about.  Cafe e Vino, A Small Faith and Red Head Rev stuggle sometimes to hang in there.  I’m going to leave them on the blogroll, and suggest perhaps stopping by and/or leaving a word of encouragement.  In the words of Red Green, we’re all in this together.

4 thoughts on “Cleaning the Blogroll

  1. I should have done something about Pilgrim’s Journey while I was at it. Brian Evans hasn’t posted to his blog since Holy Week. He still comments here sometimes, so I’ll give him a chance to respond. What should I do with your blog listing? Will you be writing anything any time soon?

  2. Interesting post here, Clark. I must admit that at times I look at my counter, and I stay in tune with the comments, but I don’t think that I’ve ever considered those as reasons to quit. (from the”Christ Centered” blog that you referenced).

    Blogging for me is a way to express what I’m feeling at any given moment-particularly as it relates to my relationship with Christ. Subsequently, my posts, just like my spiritual life, are closely entwined. By this, I mean that I tend to post more during those times when I am walking closest to Christ and I post less when the “cares of the world” seem to take charge. I wouldn’t consider any of my blogs, at least the original content, to have any awe-inspiring scriptural truths like John Piper’s, or C.J Mahaney. Yet I still find contentedness in sharing with other believers the joy that I find in His grace.

    Thanks for this post and I hope you aren’t contemplating a hiatus from the blogosphere.

  3. @ Steve240:

    I’ve never read Mahaney’s blog; he was referenced by Tim Wilson. The only thing I know by C.J. Mahaney was a book he wrote on humility. The point was simply that he is a prolific blog author. I will check out your suggestions none the less.

Leave a Reply

