Reading More, Posting Less

For the past several weeks I have been reading the Bible more.  A lot more.  I started Genesis at the beginning of January and am now in II Samuel.  I do not read through the Bible each year – that could be a long discussion right there – but decided to this year.  I’ve read the whole Bible in King James and NRSV, but up to this point have not done a straight through read of the ESV.  That has been my preferred translation of choice for reading, preaching and teaching since being introduced to it in 2003, but I’m a little ashamed to say that I have not yet read the entire thing.  Well, by God’s grace I’m working on it.  At my present rate I should finish in 10 months, not 12, but anything could happen.  I prefer reading ahead to catching up.

So the good news is I’m reading the Bible, and having a great time doing it.  The bad news, as far as this blog is concerned, is that I’m writing less.  It’s okay though.  At least I think it’s okay.  Internetmonk.com has a team of authors posting daily and there’s a list of good blogs in my blogroll, some of which haven’t quit yet.  I hate it when a good blog stops.  The Master’s Table has not stopped; it has, at least for the time being, slowed down.

Easter is coming up in a few weeks.  Daylight Savings Time started this morning.  It’s a good time to be in church.  I’m starting a three part sermon on kings of Israel today, and will be posting on Saul (hopefully) this afternoon.  If you’re a follower, hang in there.  Graduation is now just a few weeks away, and during the summer I should have more time to read and write.  God has blessed and is blessing; just thought I would pass that along.

Leave a Reply

