Happy Labor Day

In lieu of Happy Monday, Happy Labor Day!  

Labor Day, in the Untied States anyway, is the unofficial end of summer.  Memorial Day is the first 3-day-weekend of summer (a.k.a. opening day of grill season) and Labor Day is the last.  So if you’re grilling out, lounging by the lake or taking one last cruise, you really don’t need any extra encouragement.  If you do happen to be at work today, you must have one of those jobs that affords you the opportunity to read blogs on the Internet.  So, you know, it could be worse.

Labor Day “celebrates the economic and social contributions of workers” and has been a federal holiday since 1894.  (source)  If you’re at work right now, then you have been blessed with health, knowledge, skills etc. that allow you to do that job.  We are warned in scripture not to think we have made anything of ourselves.  If you have a job and are off today, then you have been doubly blessed.  I’m actually unemployed (yeah I said it) but will be grilling hamburgers and enjoying the long weekend my brother and his family have.

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  -Philippians 4:11-13

Happy Monday Holiday  

One thought on “Happy Labor Day

Leave a Reply

