Can Christians Vote for a Mormon

 

Can Christians Vote for a Mormon?  That was the topic of a panel discussion at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.  When I saw the headline, I couldn’t believe we were still talking about this.  The panel resulted in some good points being made about viewing American history from a Christian perspective and abandoning the idea that the White House is some king of mascot for Christianity.  I like this statement from Al Mohler:   “Above all we have a Gospel responsibility, that we are first and foremost citizens of the heavenly Kingdom and our concern is that others will become a part of the Kingdom through the proclamation of the Gospel.”

The panel was composed of four members, among them Al Mohler, Jr., President of Southern Baptist Seminary and Russell Moore, dead of the school of theology at Southern.  Despite a little shock at the headline (and maybe that was the point) I really liked where they came out on this.  Read the entire article at Baptist Press.  

 

 

12 thoughts on “Can Christians Vote for a Mormon

  1. I believe it’s Ok to vote for a mormon in the absence of a Christian candidate if one believes that the individual will work for the common good BUT it’s not Ok to call mormons Christians. They are not Christians

  2. I don’t think it is very often (in your country or mine) that we have the opportunity to vote for a Christian. If one is a Christian it would certainly make the choice easier, but not necessarily a foregone conclusion.

    I’m not sure how things work in America, but here in Oz, the Prime Minister doesn’t always make the decisions. They are usually puppets of the back-room boys

    In my opinion voting for a Mormon is the same as voting for an agnostic, but the main reason for getting my vote would be the directions and policies of the party behind the leader.

  3. Jay – In a general sense of the term, for labeling purposes, Mormons are Christian in that they believe in Christ. Now, they probably do not believe the same things about Christ you believe. I’ve addressed this point here: https://themasterstable.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/is-mitt-romney-a-christian/

    Angie – The ancient world of the Old Testament was ruled by kings, New Testament Jews and Christians lived under the oppressive Roman Empire. The Bible is not anti-voting, none of it’s authors had the privilege. I also drive a car, carry a cell phone and use electricity, none of which are in the Bible. I believe we are to learn the principles of Christianity, think about with the mind of Christ (phil 2) and then do the best we can. We must be a part of the culture we are in, but do so in a way the promotes the Gospel.

    Angela, I like to remind people the president is only one person. He may be the most powerful person in the world, but he alone is not the federal government. No matter who we elect in November, there are still 535 members of Congress to make sure nothing gets passed, and 7 Supreme Court justices to strike it down if it does.

  4. I’ll offer a definition of Christianity from the Oxford English dictionary: “The religion based on the person and teachings of Jesus Christ, or its beliefs and practices”.

    Clearly mormons can not be referred to Christians,Please stop referring to them as Christian. Anyone who does so (in my opinion) is advocating false prophets.

  5. Jay Raby- I don’t call myself a “christian” anymore. I’m a believe in Messiah. I say it that way because so many “faise people have given us a bad name. NO mormons are not christian and never will be.

    About voting. It is in the Lord’s hands who gets the seat. Yes I’m a citzen and vote. BUT I will vote for a person whom is right. NOT basics on what they believe. I would vote for anyone of any faith if they are in the right.

    Yeshua and His message is most important to me. So that is what I will do with my time and voice…tell people the Good New of a great JOY to all people. NOT debate whom to vote for.

  6. Jay, the Oxford dictionary definition says “religion based on the person and teaching of Jesus Christ.” Mormons read the same Bible you and I have, and also the Book of Mormon. While mainstream Christianity does not recognize that text as scripture, Mormons consider it “another testament of Jesus Christ.” While Mormons are outside the mainstream (of organized Christianity), the do believe in Christ.

    I made clear in my post (did you follow the link in my previous comment?) and Romney himself has acknowledged that Mormons are different from other Christians. What you and I believe about Christ is not what Mormons believe (just like Jehovah’s Witness, for instance). Mormons “cannot” be identified as Christians? Mormons identify themselves as Christians.

    We’re arguing here over syntax. The original post asked “Can Christians vote for a Mormon?” I plan to.

  7. I accept those in the Church of Christ as Christian, even though I believe their understanding of baptism is misguided. Those Christians, however, do accept that I am a Christian.

    I am an ordained minister in my faith, but the Catholic Church would will not accept me at the communion table. While I disagree with many Catholic teachings, they have a lot of things right when it comes to the office of Christ. While we accept each other at different levels, I will not deny that Catholics are “Christian.” They follow, as they understand them, the teachings of Christ.

    God knows those that are his. I will always be the last person pointing a finger and declaring “You are not a Christian.”

  8. I agree with your comments to a point: we should not judge others, we should accept Christians of all denominations and at all stages of their journey with the Lord even if there are or in-spite of differences in secondary doctrine. The distinction in this case is that the church of latter day saints is not a Christian denomination it is a cult. Mormons have deviated from the word of God and from Jesus’ teaching to such a degree it makes it impossible to include them as members of the Christian faith.

    I am not a US citizen, I don’t really care who is elected in November to the White House but I do care for the salvation of those without faith. I feel it is right and just to recognise and declare false prophets and expose false doctrine. Someone seeking the Lord or curious about the Christian faith might read this one day; it would be a tragedy if they mistakenly walked into a LDS ‘temple’ thinking they were walking into a Christian church.

  9. “I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book,and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book.”

    Revelation 22:18-19 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

