Christian Rock, What Say Ye?

In the 70’s we were told that Rock music was Satan’s tongue. Then in the 80’s came the advent of “Christian rock,” loud music featuring electric guitar solos and driving drum beats with lyrics promoting the Gospel.

In the past 24 hours I have encountered two polar opposite opinions. There’s this guy:

Screenshot 2014-05-05 at 10.28.10 AM

…suggesting there is nothing Christian about rock music and the whole thing is nothing less than a deception of Satan himself. And then the video below. Now, it’s worth watching for a good laugh, and that’s the reason I was sharing it with a pastor friend on Facebook. You can watch the whole thing or skip to the 50 second mark.

“He taught me how to praise my God and still play rock ‘n roll. The music may sound different but the message is the same, it’s just an instrument to praise his name.”

When you get done laughing (or crying) take a look at that line. Whether or not this qualifies as “rock and roll” is not the issue. At issue is whether or not the words are true: the music may sound different but the message is the same. Satan head up there says rock music cannot bring glory to the Almighty. Christian rock is used by dark forces of evil to keep people away from God. Sonseed, Kutless, Geoff Moore & The Distance, The Newsboys and others all say music is a mechanism to convey a message and their message shares the Gospel, glorifies God and edifies the body.

In the end we may agree to disagree; to each his own. But let’s hear what you have to say in the comments and see if we can have a meaningful discussion.

3 thoughts on “Christian Rock, What Say Ye?

  1. Thanks for the giggle.LOL

    No, I’m not a fan of Christan rock. I do like some songs, but most are just copies of other non-christian bands.

    I have met some Christian music artist. They are for the most part very nice and some are very strong Christians. (so nothing personal)

  2. I am not a fan of rock music, but I would have to admit that a number of years ago I enjoyed many of Petra’s songs and even Carman’s . . . songs with lyrics that thrilled my soul and exalted Christ.

    I’m not of fan of ANY music when I cannot clearly hear the words, and of course those words MUST exalt Christ. Sadly it seems that with many groups the instruments drown out the words.

  3. My brother’s a really big fan of contemporary Christian stuff–Toby Mac, Mandisa, Matthew West, the Newsboys, etc. (He likes to make fun of me for my secular heavy metal music). I enjoy some of the stuff, too, but I don’t have a whole lot of it on my ipod.
    Personally, with people who preach against rock ‘n roll, they give you history, tell you about the lifestyles of some of the more popular artists, and play “Highway to Hell” by AC/DC to show you how evil it is. But nobody ever gives me conclusive reasoning why the whole style is inherently evil.

Leave a Reply

