Seven Years: Time Flies When You’re Blogging Fun

7 candle I’m better at writing copy than coming up with clever headlines. At any rate, it has been seven years to the day since the first blog post. Here’s an excerpt from 3/4/2008:

I’m looking to seriously devote some time and energy to sharing my ideas on apologetics, theology, the Bible and the Gospel message…  There is a lot of junk out there, particularly on the internet, and if I can add some truth, share a word of hope, spread the gospel online to places I will never visit in person, then this becomes another opportunity to be a witness.

That was post #1. For the record this is post #927. Back then we still had dial-up internet at our house; anything as big as a jpeg file I had to upload from the campus ministry office. I left MySpace to join Facebook and latter Twitter. While I often fail in my attempt to post new material at least 2 or 3 times per week hopefully the the goals listed above have been achieved. Our daughter Johannah was born in 2009 and we “came home” to Georgia in 2012. In 2014 I published my first book and answered the call to pastor a small SBC church. I often say that whatever we are doing right now is preparation for what God will call us to next. Most things change but there are a few things that never do. And hopefully for many years to come The Master’s Table will go on being God honoring and Christ centered.

 

6 thoughts on “Seven Years: Time Flies When You’re Blogging Fun

  1. I’m not sure how some of the metrics work. According to the admin page there are 927 posts, but when I posted this one just now a little graphic came up saying this is the 899th post. There are currently 13 drafts and 2 posts listed as private but that still doesn’t account for the difference.

    At the end of the day those are just numbers. If you are reading this comment on a lame “I’ve been blogging seven years” post then you must be a real friend or a big fan. Thank you for that and God bless!

  2. Congrats! We must have started about ten days apart. (I have a post listed as January that year because later on, I needed a place to put it, but our first post was Feb. 24th.)

    Love that first article line, “If I can add some truth, share a word of hope, spread the gospel online to places I will never visit in person, then this becomes another opportunity to be a witness.” I think you’re accomplishing that.

  3. Thanks everyone for the positive feedback. I will be perfectly honest: the date slipped up on me and I only realized when WordPress congratulated me on 7 years.

    Diane: one of my goals for 2015 is to start writing another book. But I am now pastoring a church, taking a seminary class, and have a wife and 5 year old child at home. I can rest when I’m dead, right?

  4. Happy 7th blogging birthday! Loved reading about your family and blogging history! Wow are you busy! Especially appreciated what you wrote here:

    “I often say that whatever we are doing right now is preparation for what God will call us to next.”

    Great way to live – in my book! God, family, love, and work are all important; but in addition to all of this is the important role we as Christians have on this earth to share God’s Word and the Gospel of Jesus Christ! God bless!

Leave a Reply

