Satur-deja Vu

Last August we posted this image of Van Til with the headline Technical Difficulty. We asked our readers to please stand by. In the months since then The Master’s Table has been viewed almost 13,000 times, even while no content was added. Thank you for standing by.

I know what you’re thinking; earlier this week I said not to expect regular recurring features like Happy Monday and Satur-deja Vu. So if you were not expecting it… what can I say? Surprise!

I have not posted since the end of last summer but you can search Halloween, Thanksgiving, Advent, Christmas, Holy Week and Easter using the search tool in the right-hand side bar. There are dozens of posts in the archives going back to 2008. I have continued to post sermons at the Unity Baptist website; we recently concluded a series on what Jesus meant by “I must be about my Father’s business.” I will probably post a time or two this next week on Pentecost. I’m still noticing things for the first time at the ripe old age of 48. If you finish reading the Bible, read it again. There will be new things you have never seen before every single time because you are not exactly the same person you were the last time.

In the coming weeks I hope to share my experiences of meeting Mel Blackaby, Christian recording artist Brandon Heath, and hearing Mark Middelberg and Billy Neal Moore. Back in the spring we saw Willie Robertson and his daughter Sadie at the first event they spoke at together. I will have a book review coming hopefully in a week or two. I know that some people don’t care for Amazon so here is the publisher’s page for Christianity Cracking Up. I don’t have an informed opinion yet but hope to offer one soon.

So those are some things to look forward to. Now, just in case you missed it, here are some things that happened around our world recently.

King Charles II released an official portrait that reminds many of Vigo the Carpathian. I think the title could have easily been “Fading Into the Background” and it makes me think of that GIF of Homer Simpson backing into the hedge.

I think this style may catch on.

If you tell me you saw the aurora borealis last week I will not argue with you. I have friends and family in northwest Georgia, as well as local newspaper and TV outlets, that shared images and stories of seeing the Northern Lights in the Deep South. Teresa and I drove out of the woods, but not into the city, to try to get a better view. We didn’t see it. I know about using your phone but it was after 11 p.m. and my night routine not only silences my phone but the display turns to black & white. It’s fine, I’ve seen fifty-eleven pictures and I’m willing to take your word for it.

I was able to get some decent solar eclipse pics last month. The cloud cover we thought might ruin everything made it possible for me to take pics right from phone. It was like nature’s filter.

And finally…

Randy Travis has released a new single. He has difficulty speaking since a stroke a decade ago. The thoughts are in there but the speech center in his brain will not let him put those thoughts into audible words. Through the miracle of A.I. technology – science is like magic that works – his voice can be heard singing new lyrics. CBS Sunday Morning can explain it while the official video appears below.

One thought on “Satur-deja Vu

  1. Back in the day I would keep a list of ideas, usually saving pics or headlines, so that I could compile the Saturday post from the stack. This post was a last minute snap decision, almost entirely due to watching the new Randy Travis video and Teresa saying “surely that deserves a Satur-deja Vu.” In retrospect I could have just posted about Randy Travis.

    If I had been planning all week to post on Saturday morning surely I would have mentioned Red Lobster. They recently “temporarily” closed nearly 90 locations but this week they auctioned off all the contents of two stores in Georgia, one in Roswell and the other in Athens. 50 or so of the 650 Red Lobster locations nationwide will probably remain permanently closed. The chain will probably go into bankruptcy as they restructure and downsize. If my friends and family that are local are wondering, the Rome, GA restaurant on Shorter Ave. is still open… for now.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.