I Read the Comments

I don’t have a lot of interaction with Twitter but I am on it and sometimes scroll through the feed of people and pages that I follow. There was an ad from the Ark Encounter, linking to an article about which type of cubit Noah used (a royal cubit is a little bit longer than what we typically think of as a cubit, around 20 or 21 inches). I made the mistakes of reading the comments. However you feel about a global flood or Old Testament historical accounts aside; there were hundreds of comments about how it doesn’t matter what he used because there was never an ark/never a global flood/the ark should have been a box not a boat/foolish Christians that believe in fairytale stories and such like. There was not one defender of the faith or Christian apologist in the multitude.

My gut reaction was to return fire at some of the most hateful comments spewing the most vitriol. But that would not have shared the gospel, built the kingdom, edified the body nor been Christ-like. Instead I just closed Twitter and was very discouraged. If I were running the Ark account I can’t image that I would post anything else ever again but they probably do not read those comments.

It should come as no surprise that most people in the world today are not believers. While I am aware I am also unaccustomed to seeing such a brazenly vocal onslaught of the faithful. People are ugly. And God loves them and calls us to as well. The lost of this world are not the enemy; that’s not our battlefield, that’s our mission field. It makes it hard when they want to fight but they are deceived by our real enemy, by what Ephesians 6 calls spiritual wickedness in high places.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.