Yes We Are

I re-entered the blogosphere yesterday with a rather weak statement by asking the question Are we back? I wanted to emphasize the soft launch aspect and point out that we are not trying to restart all the spinning plates that were going before. I have updated the Our Daily Bread and Bible Gateway features in the left-hand sidebar. That only takes a couple of minutes and it’s a good routine for me to start the day with; I have been updating the verse of the day on the Unity Baptist Facebook page this whole time. Our Daily Bread now has a daily video devotional you can subscribe to, so check that out.

Speaking of Unity Baptist, that is one reason I have desired to start blogging here again. I was looking at the traffic for the church website and was concerned it was down, reasoning that traffic directed from this site must be missing. After careful analysis I’m not sure that was ever the case. In the first place there has been more visitor activity here than I expected considering nothing new had been posted for nearly three consecutive quarters. In the second place there was only a trickle of incoming to the church website from here last summer when this blog was active and that trickle continued during the down time. Apparently having the Unity Baptist RSS feed on the left side does not drive much traffic to the church site; but that feed has been running on autopilot this whole time and will continue.

The biggest driver of traffic – views and visitors – is activity. If you want to be read then you have to write. If you want to be seen then you have to show the audience something. This venue gives me the opportunity to express myself through writing, share the Gospel, reach people in places I will never visit in person and make/keep up with blog friends near and far. Some of my friends on Facebook I met here doing this. So let’s do this.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.